final review windows 7 RC in my laptop Acer aspire 5583 (so long, cupang …)

March 13, 2010 at 00:43 6 comments

Oh, My God!, I almost forget that 1st of March are the ‘warning’ month from Microsoft for the Windows RC  In this month (hehehe … wouldn’t affect m, because I have remove RC on my laptop and replace it with my beloved PCLinuxOS 2009.1 which I have updated it), The windows 7 RC user are force to shutdown every couple hour counting on this march. Therefore I make this last summary on Windows 7 RC in my faithful lappy, Acer Aspire 5583. If you guys read my previous post, you probably taught that  why am I have to make another review if I  already did? (even though  it’s in Bahasa Indonesia).

For simple explanation, it is because this windows 7 are “growing” through time (read: update) and I just want to share what windows 7 RC have develop these couple month. and here it is:

1. First let me tell you about my windows experience score in win7. in this couple update, sadly my score are not rising, still got 2.1, just like the first time i tested. it is very disappointed, I’m hoping at lease it will exceed Vista (I got 3.0 in vista windows experience test), how is possible? isn’t vista is much heavier than 7?. And I finally had ‘enlighten’ on why I got small score. the reason is because my VGA are still GMA 950 chipset. If I got latest intel VGA such X3100 or 4500HD I probably got more than 3 in the windows experience.

2. For drivers and hardwares, I don’t have problem with it. I know my lappie are not brand new (in fact it is the first gen of core 2 duo), but I guess what I feel when I use win 7, my lappie does not sign any trouble, yes, I could not find modem and launch manager for vista (because windows 7 can use vista’s driver) but thank God, actually they can be install in windows 7 with XP driver smile . For the rest, windows seven RC almost look like linux, all the driver such as VGA, sound, Wireless and others are installed out of the box.

3. Printer: yes I have a problem installing my old canon bubble jet BJ-2100 until I find out that windows 7 RC got compatibilities mode, so I try that and my printer works just fine.

4. The best thing about win 7 RC is i could connect to the internet with my beloved cell phone, W950i. in beta version, I could not connect with “outside world” because of apparently beta version are not support yet with all vista driver. RC are much more improved.

5. I don’t know about you, but Windows 7 are weird, here I can use aero effect flawlessly but I couldn’t use hibernate due to VGA issue? how’s that possible? Until my final review, I haven’t got the solution yet.

6. During the 6th month using this RC, My laptop got weird, the harddisk are making loud noise. I totally shock that. I though that my Harddisk are having a problem, but turn out that the windows 7 RC giving weird effect after I have just installing the update. So due to this problem, I Uninstall the RC and replace it with Karmic Koala Which I have just got from Canonical nyengir . Until know, I have no clue why this happen …

So, there it is, my last review on Windows 7 RC. Quite sad for not using it until march (you know how often microsoft giving free stuff? … hehehe lmao ) But I concern about my lappie, so I have to remove it before my hard disk get trouble. I don’t have any plan to get windows 7 copy (either genuine or piracy laugh ) , Because know I still exploring my ubuntu and other Linux Distro. Maybe I’ll enjoy Windows 7 when it already have SP3 and I enjoy it on my brand new Laptop. Pray for me will ya so that I could buy new laptopwink

Entry filed under: MY Happy Lappy, seven is beter than vista, Tribute to W950i. Tags: , , , .

SEO Suck! (the end of search engine) Inikah PCLinuxOS 2010? (Update apa Upgrade?) …

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Aldy  |  March 13, 2010 at 13:48

    Versi RC Windows 7 memang bikin puyeng mas, saya sendiri sempat misuhi microsoft gara-gara windows7 RC.
    Tetapi setelah full, sepertinya sudah ada perbaikan, tetapi untuk printer tua masih harus jungkir balik juga mencarinya. Printer epson dotmatrix LX-300 ( eks kios phone ) sampai sekarang tidak bisa mencetak di Windows7.
    Untuk driver VGA sebaiknya tidak mengandalkan bawaan Windows7, hasilnya tidak maksimal. Sebaiknya gunakan driver bawaan VGA.
    Ini Windows7 RC versi 32 bit ya Mas ?

  • 2. annosmile  |  March 13, 2010 at 13:55

    i don’t use windows 7

  • 3. gadgetboi  |  March 13, 2010 at 18:37

    @aldy: bethul:mrgreen: .. Dengan core2duo T5500 maksain banget pake 64bit🙂 … Lagian saya dapet dvdnya dari majalah chip …
    @annosmile: me neither … (for know …:mrgreen: )

  • 4. bukan detikcom  |  March 14, 2010 at 11:42

    I stiil using it until now bro, but since the trial already expired my laptop was turn off (restart) every two hour! What a disaster!

    Anyway, thanks for the Kristen Kruek info about the Indonesian blood thing. One of my idol, but I just about the Indonesian from you.😀

  • 5. gadgetboi  |  March 14, 2010 at 12:00

    @bukan detikcom: suck isn’t? every 2 hour …:mrgreen: what a cheap-stake Microsoft is ….

    anytime my friend … you can ask me anything about a babe:mrgreen:

  • 6. Red  |  September 8, 2011 at 08:29

    yg versi RC memang selalu restart sendiri…seingat saya malah satu jam sekali restart. thats why desember 2010 saya beranikan diri membeli win7 retail. memang mantap ini 7 ketika berjalan di laptop dell core 2 duo saya.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Gadgetboi’s Blog

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 759 other followers

translate this blog

ubuntero

The Ubuntu Counter Project - user number # 29030

Try Manjaro Linux

Unduh Blankon

Download Linux Mint

Calender

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Recent Posts

Categories

Archives

How Many People lost here?

  • 476,360 people

Online…Online

IP
free counters
Msn bot last visit powered by MyPagerank.Net
Yahoo bot last visit powered by MyPagerank.Net

Check Me IF I’m Online

Support This!

No Smoking
Counter Powered by  RedCounter

