installing ubuntu 9.04 in my acer aspire 5583 laptop PART 1

May 31, 2009 at 18:11 Leave a comment

si Jaunty

si Jaunty

I got copy of ubuntu 9.04 from shipit which i knew couple month ago from my friend.  I think its cool Ubuntu giving free cds since internet connection in our country are not as fast as in japan or korea (Still wishing though :.( ) . I wish all linux could give a free cd, becaouse i really want to test opensuse in my laptop. because i think these two are one of my top 5 linux i wanted to try on my lappie. maybe nextime.

Anyway, I have prepared about 20GB free and ready to use (already parted for linux via partition magic 8) and I intended to use as dual boot with my xp. so the installation are quite easy and fast comparing xp or slackware. all you need is to boot your cd. so, config first in bios and set cd rom as your first boot and you ready to go. the ubuntu screen list will apear and all you need is to select  install and ente. I didn’t use the “live cd” because i really want to feel this brand new ubuntu that most of the reviewer on the net compare the beauty of this OS with OSX mac and also windows seven. and I don’t use installed in windows also even this is alot easier for newbies to try and experience the Ubuntu just like a program and when you bore, you could just uninstalled it!.

You don’t need as long and tiring step as installing as installing windows xp. Actually, in my case,  I only need 20 minute or less I think and walaahh. Ubuntu is already installed in my lappie. After the system restarted it self, i finnaly could see this beauty. The first thing i realise that ubuntu have already detect my wifi. the wifi start automaticly when i start ubuntu (this howeven i couldn’t find the answer how to deactivate, because i don’t want my wifi to automaticly on).  nice then, I could immediately online with my ubuntu without compiling anything. the resolution also already reach it max! 1280×800. How nice is this jaunty! so my VGA also had been detected! yeay!. I tried the funcion key (Fn) and all are working!. really help me alot. so all I have to do is to try the Ethernet, PCMCIA card, 5 in 1 Card Reader, internal dialup modem, Hibernate, and test all my gadget if it work in this system. Since I don’t have ADSL or any cable boardband so I couldn’t try :.( neither the PCMCIA or Card reader since I never use it in my entire life having this lappie. so al Ihave to do is to test 3 others stuff.

1. Connecting my Cellphone: I know linux could not backup0 my data in the cellphone but atlease I could use it as modem wireless boardband since my Sony Ericsson W950i are 3G capable😛. I have used it also in my xp. and also it has 4GB. so atlease ubuntu can do me a favour and transfering mp3 or video to my phone. and guess what! ubuntu do recognize my phone and if i connect as normal (for internet) ubuntu directly pops up the connection wizard and my phone could connect because the provider in my coultry already included. cool isn’t it! al I have to do is typing the user id and password to go online. as for mass storage (transfering file)ubuntu recognize it as media player which will featured ipod icon on your desktop. cool, now i don’t worried anymore.  unlike vista or seven that i tried those two didn’t support my cell.

2. other pheriperial that i rely on is my good old printer Canon BJ-2100. this printer are old school, I’ve got this since forever! but still working great. but in vista or seven, this machine are not supported. so I intended to find a system that are working with my printer and guess what. Ubuntu recognizze this printer and without any driver needed I could print easily. just follow the wizzard guide.

3. hibernate: very crucial i think. consider i use laptop. and i need this function work with my laptop but untuil today i could not fix the bug. if i use it, the system goes log off and dim the LCD. and i’ve tried increasing the swap file twice the RAM but not helping. anyone could hep me?

4. Internal dialup modem: no clue how to configurate it?!! wizzard to hep me? :.(

so, this is so far my experience on using ubuntu on my laptop. hopefullyI could fix all the bug sooner. I have to learn though since i’m newbie….

Entry filed under: Linux, MY Happy Lappy, My Life, Tribute to W950i. Tags: .

Konami Code on Famous site HAPPY BIRTHDAY MY LAPPIE

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Gadgetboi’s Blog

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 758 other followers

translate this blog

ubuntero

The Ubuntu Counter Project - user number # 29030

Try Manjaro Linux

Unduh Blankon

Download Linux Mint

Calender

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Posts

Categories

Archives

How Many People lost here?

  • 475,986 people

Online…Online

IP
free counters
Msn bot last visit powered by MyPagerank.Net
Yahoo bot last visit powered by MyPagerank.Net

Check Me IF I’m Online

Support This!

No Smoking
Counter Powered by  RedCounter

